2018 NSW J/24 State Titles

Thanks to Mick Reynolds for this report from Australia: Cronulla Sailing Club, in partnership with the J/24 Southern Sydney Fleet, again hosted the NSW State Championship in the water of Bate Bay. Saturday came with the crew briefing led by starter Bruce Swane, laying down the law and setting the scene for what was to come—two days of exciting, frustrating but most of all enjoyable and friendly one-design racing. Race 1 got underway in a steady though light 8 knot Easterly shooting out from Shark Island into Bate Bay. Twelve J/24s headed out, popping spinnakers and heading into Cronulla, only for half the fleet to be becalmed at the bottom mark and the leaders TINTO (S Wright) and INNAMINCKA (J Crawford) streaking ahead on the breeze. However, the wind returned with TINTO first, followed by INNAMINCKA in second and WATERBORNE AGAIN (B Lee) in third. Race 2, and the cream began to rise. Sean Kirkjian driving KAOTIC, past multiple Australian and NSW Champion, came in first followed by TINTO and the forever young Cronulla local David Mckay in STAMPED URGENT. The Race Committee then began the search for the elusive wind……AP flew, and the fleet began the race into the clubhouse for some stories of where’d the wind go followed by some great BBQ delights. And to enjoy the $500 bar tab supplied by the Harbour Fleet (also, on Sunday night). Cheers! Sunday arrived with an increasing Northeasterly in race 3, and all but one went with the genoa (however that changed). Brenden Lee from Sandringham Yacht Club took race 3 followed by KAOTIC and ACE (D West). All under jib in race 4, and again the man from Sandringham driving WATERBORNE AGAIN came first, VORTEX (C Lee) in second and STAMPED URGENT made up the podium. Special mentions go to the team on JARGON (J Macquart) making the most of the one-design nature of a J/24, flying his kite sideways to take advantage of the blustery NE summer breeze. Race 5, and KAOTIC returned to the top spot, ACE in second and WATERBORNE AGAIN in third, so the title was to be decided in the final race. With the course reset into the estuary, the results of Race 6 were to reflect the final overall result: KAOTIC in first, followed by WATERBORNE AGAIN and TINTO following. Congratulations to Sean Kirkjian and his crew on KAOTIC, NSW Champion 2018, in front of Brenden Lee from Sandringham on countback and Steve Wright from the Cronulla Sailing Club in third. Performance results saw VORTEX skippered by Chris Lee making a return to one-design racing in first, followed by KAOTIC and in third WATERBORNE AGAIN. Cronulla SC and the J/24 Fleet of Southern Sydney would like to thank all the sponsors: Spot-A-Yacht photography, My Sail Team management, Macquart Marine, Wet Tech Rigging and Infinity Rigging. J/24SSF would also like to thank the team of volunteers at Cronulla Sailing Club, making this Championship one of the best to date, from the cooks on the BBQ to the servers behind the line, the on-water crew moving marks and setting courses to the results team getting everything online quickly and efficiently, thank you. Photo courtesy of Ben Williams from Spot-A-Yacht.

Comments are closed.