INDIGO Crowned Argentine J/24 Triple Crown Winner

This year, the Argentinean J/24 fleet’s famous “Triple Crown” Series included the Argentina Championship in 2015 and the Campeonato Del Oeste in Potrerillos and the Campeonato Del Centro in Cordoba. It is not an easy event to win. After 25 races counted with four discards, the winner overall was Ezequiel Despontin’s team on INDIGO with crew Martin Costa, Gustavo Llanos and Franco Monetti. After the Nationals in Buenos Aires, the crews all moved their boats into the base of the Andes in Potrerillos to sail on Lago Mendocino. Campeonato del Oeste: Guillermo Parada was the 1995 Argentine National Champion. He proved, yet again, that he has the talent to win the class and won the regatta quite easily over the 18-boat fleet (winning six of eleven races). His crew included Paul Despontin, Carlos Fioritti and Ezequiel Sirito. Taking second was the INDIGO crew led by Ezequiel Despontin with Martin Costa, Gustavo Hernan Llanos and Mieres. Taking third was MORRUCHO with Sebastian Halpern and the family Monetti (Franco & Choli) and Juan Barquero. Despite having suffered a DNF, MORRUCHO managed to climb on to the podium for the bronze, defeating at the last moment Nico Cubria on RINA/WORKNET with crew of Fernando Bertrand, Mario Cubria and Barbara Gold. Fifth was Matias Pereira on QUATTRO sailing with Federico Reser, Elder Pascheta and Andres Guerra (Pan Am Games Gold Medalists). The Punta del Este, Uruguayan team led by Pedro Garra on EXTASIS took sixth overall, sailing with his crew of Santiago Gari, Juan Carral and Ivan Guicheff. It was fortunate to have three days of great sailing with winds ranging from single digits to 25 knots plus. Campeonato del Centro: After the three-day event, seven races were counted and Eze Despontin’s team won not only the regatta, but the overall Triple Crown Series as well! On March 18, the races began with lots of rain and cold weather and very little wind. Just one race was run that day with INDIGO winning. On the next day, more rain, more cold and also very little wind. The forecast was not very promising. Again, the first race was hard to get running on the flat waters of the lake, but again INDIGO won. However, as the wind dropped yet again, racing was postponed until 1700 hrs. Two more races were conducted in light breezes until sunset. Nicolas Cubria’s RINA/WORKNET won the second race, and Sammy Capueta’s CALEUCHE won the third and last race of the day. Like the previous two mornings, the final day dawned cloudy with little wind. However, in spite of the weather conditions, the breeze ultimately developed and the fleet was able to enjoy three good races, racking up seven races overall. The first race was won by Cubria’s RINA/WORKNET, the second by MEU VICIO, and the third by Halpern’s MORRUCHO. The final results saw Despontin’s crew on INDIGO win the regatta and the Triple Crown. Second in the regatta was Halpern’s MORRUCHO (and second in the Triple Crown). Third in the Triple Crown was Cubria’s RINA/WORKNET. For more Argentina J/24 Class sailing information, click here.

Comments are closed.