Russian Sailors Race to Victory

RUSSIA ‘A’ were crowned overall champions of Match Racing yesterday while Bahrain’s Abdulla Janahi took the Standard Class title in the Fleet Races as the Kingdom of Bahrain Regatta Championships ending on an exciting note. The event was held at the Bahrain Sailing Club near Al Jazayer Beach in Zallaq with more than 100 sailors from 12 countries taking part.

In the J/24 Match Racing championship final, Andrey Arbuzov skippered Russia ‘A’ to a 3-1 victory over his ‘B’ team, led by Sergey Musikhin.

Also leading Russia ‘A’ to victory and the top prize money of $3,500 were Kaptiukhin Vyacheslav, Borovyak Alexey and Antipov Jury.

Russia ‘B’, who walked away with $2,000, also featured Pavel Trofimchuk, Kirill Luzin and Yury Popev.

Estonia defeated Bahrain 3-0 for third place and a prize money of $1,000.

The Estonians were spearheaded by Janno Hool, Karl Kolk and Raul Griboljev. Bahrain, skippered by Ebrahim Abdulla, comprised Ahmed Al Naar, Ahmed Abdulla, Mustafa Janahi and the only women sailor in the championship Mariam Telfat.

Shaikh Khalifa, along with sponsors representatives, honoured the top three teams. The ceremony was also attended by GPIC president Abdulrahman Jawahery who congratulated the association on the outstanding organisation of the championships, which was held for the 10th consecutive year.

On his part, Russian Ambassador Victor Smirnov expressed delight over his team’s victory.

Comments are closed.